Gentle Notes

the lighter web

Writing on bear made me realize that a lighter, simpler web is better. I didn’t have time to rework my website into bare HTML and simple CSS, sadly, but I did what I could to make it lighter.

I am using Google Sites as my website CMS. It’s free, simple, and easy for me given my available time. I’m intrigued to try Neocities, but in my country, some ISPs have marked Neocities as harmful websites, and I don’t know why.

For my main blog, I am using Blogger. It's not the best blog host either, but it’s free and can host lifestyle niche blogs well, at least for personal use. Google service is integrated, and I can use it with no hassle. Although it's not #indieweb, I’m happy with the result.

I've been a fan of Google Fonts for a long time, and I always make sure to make my website and main blog look new and modern. This time I switched the typefaces used to Times New Roman and Trebuchet MS. Surprisingly, it still looks beautiful—there's not much difference compared to when I am using imported Google Fonts. And it loads blazing fast!

As a fan of magazine-like spreads and a visual person, my blog still uses many pictures and I don’t intend to change it. I will just make sure I have compressed them before posting.

Basics Lightweight Website Design

to be updated

Other Resources

Some interesting readings about the light web/small web:

Rediscovering the Small Web

The Small Web is Beautiful

Motherfucking Blog

The Small Web Shrine

Small Web from Joe’s Digital Garden

Best Motherfucking Website

Contrast Rebellion

Revised Font Stack

Some tiny web examples I love:

Special Fish

Gossips Web

Low-tech Magazine

512kb club

This small corner of the internet has been my sanctuary since I decided to log out from social media. I still look at them from time to time, but my mindless scrolling has gone much lower, because I remember that I have my own, free outlet here, to write whatever I want and post whatever I want (as long as I adhere to the main rules, of course).

Hopefully it will stays.

#learning #small web #website